MPNFL Fixtures Released for 2019

MPNFL Fixtures Released for 2019
Friday December 30, 2018

Dromana and Seaford to renew rivalries of days gone by

The Chisholm Mornington Peninsula Nepean Football League (MPNFL) is set for an
exciting second season of divisional competition after the release of fixtures for 2019.

The inaugural season of divisional football was a huge success, with winning margins reduced and two magnificent grand finals taking place at Frankston Park.

Dromana earned promotion to division one with a thrilling premiership victory over
Red Hill in division two, while Pines became the kings of Peninsula football for the
first time since 1994 with a one-point victory over Sorrento - in what many regard as
the greatest grand final in MPNFL history.

Dromana will begin its first season in the top flight by reacquainting itself with
Southern Peninsula rivals Rosebud, while Pines and Sorrento will meet for the first
time in round nine. The two heavyweights of last season have recruited well and
could be well and truly entrenched at the top of the table, setting up a huge clash
at Pines on Saturday 15 June.

Rye and Pearcedale will kickstart the season with their division two clash at RJ
Rowley Reserve on Saturday 30 March, with Frankston YCW hosting Sorrento in a
round one contest that is sure to attract plenty of division one interest a week later.

Mt Eliza host Pines in another high-quality and enticing start to the season.

There will be no shortage of action on Good Friday with Edithvale-Aspendale hosting Bonbeach and Mt Eliza rolling out the welcome mat for Frankston Bombers. In
division two, Rye host Tyabb, while Crib Point and Red Hill will enjoy their fair
share of the Good Friday spotlight with a night clash at the Crib Point Rec Reserve.

Seaford will begin its charge back to division one with a visit to Somerville, followed
by games against former rivals Langwarrin and Karingal.

Themed rounds include Fight MND, Responsible Gambling – Love the Game,
White Ribbon and Pink Round, while QUIT and It’s Okay Not to be Okay will bring awareness to very important issues in the community.

Interleague football also returns to the Peninsula with the MPNFL Sharks hosting
Ovens and Murray for the fourth time in nine years. The Sharks hold a unbeaten
record over the OMFL and will look to continue that form in the WorkSafe AFL
Victoria Community Championships.

Netball will take a big step forward in 2019 with the advent of a five-team finals
series in both divisions.

All 22 MPNFL clubs will field A Grade teams next season, with Pearcedale and Rye
both welcome additions back to the top echelon of netball. The division two A Grade competition will be strengthened in 2019 with perennial powerhouse Seaford
taking on the likes of Karingal, Crib Point, Langwarrin and Tyabb.

Edithvale-Aspendale will begin its quest for a remarkable sixth-consecutive
premiership when it hosts Mornington, while the growth of under-17s netball will
be a major highlight of the MPNFL season.

Eight teams competed in the under-17s competition last year, a number set to
double with 16 clubs looking to field a junior team in 2019.

Chisholm MPNFL Division One Fixture - 2019

Chisholm MPNFL Division Two Fixture - 2019

Interview with MPNFL Football Operations Manager - Haydn Parsons

Interview with MPNFL Netball Operations Manager - Samantha Downie


Media Enquiries: email

Proudly Supported By